Happy 4th of America day!

Yes I am aware this blog post is coming a few days after July 4th but I don’t care.

Last year, Tyler and I did nothing for July 4th. I was right in the middle of volunteering (and walking 3+ hours each day if you forgot) and the last thing I wanted to do was walk downtown or do, well, anything that required moving. This year however, I have nothing to do at all and Tyler and I have been talking about actually  going out and doing something on the weekends, we decided to bike into Richland and watch their small parade. Well, we assumed it would be small because Richland is a village, not a town and it has one intersection and a town square. Which is literally a square of grass in the center of the village. It’s an adorable town where our friends Megan and David live so we decided to meet them for the parade then we invited ourselves over for dinner and to watch the fireworks (they suggested fireworks, I suggested dinner…)

As it turns out, everyone in Kalamazoo and the surrounding area goes to the 4th of July parade in the Village of Richland.

The bike ride was only about 5.5 miles and there is a nice bike path that goes pretty much from our house to Richland. We (I) got dressed in our American finest and set off.

Red, white and blue with stars and a cat.
Red, white and blue with stars and a cat.
Of course I had to have my Canada showing a bit
Of course I had to have my Canada showing a bit

The ride was nice and not hot yet. Once we got to where the parade was, we were shocked to see how many people there were to watch it!.

As we were looking for a place to lock our bikes, the parade announcer (yes the Village of Richland had a parade announcer) told everyone to stand up, take off their hats and do the pledge of allegiance thing. I really didn’t know what to make of that. I mean, I know that do that in school and I find it creepy but to do it at a parade was just too strange to me. And the way people recite it too….it was this monotonous blah blah blah that looked and sounded like everyone had been possessed.  Too odd for me but I suppose to better get used to it.

Things got a lot less weird when the parade started. for a while at least 

They started off with these great patriotic people and then came a marching band, which was pretty fun. Once they got a little bit passed us though, the parade just stopped for the national anthem. Everyone stood with their hand over their heart and sang it. Even Emi, although she didn’t really understand why she had to stand like that. She was pretty damn cute doing it though.

So at parades, the kids have to wave to the floats and that’s how you get candy. David spent a good part of the parade ‘helping’ his daughter wave at the cars and people but there was one time where she didn’t wave hard enough, according to Tyler.

There was a lot of neat stuff in the parade, which I’m not going to describe. I’ll just post the pics and videos.

Hot Dog Wiener Dog
Hot Dog Wiener Dog
Jpeg
Tyler liked this one
Jpeg
FULL OF CANDY. Not really, more like sand with some candy on top…
'MURICA
‘MURICA

Why not have a machine gun on the roof of your car
Why not have a machine gun on the roof of your car
The caption scared me
The caption scared me
BANANA CAR
BANANA CAR
My car
My car
Lady Liberty closing out the parade
Lady Liberty closing out the parade
Someone enjoyed herself
Someone enjoyed herself
The people who gave the freezies out know how to parade.
The people who gave the freezies out know how to parade.

Along with all  that’s above there was also this really cool mechanical elephant, this train this that, once I saw what it was, I got uncomfortable filming it, and what parade wouldn’t be complete without bagpipes. And then there was this guy.

After the parade (which was an hour long) Tyler and I biked back home and I made cupcakes for the evening’s fireworks.

This is a patriotic as I can get
This is a patriotic as I can get

They are supposed to be fireworks, but some of them started looking like the Union Jack, which I thought was inappropriate. Then I reconsidered and thought it was very appropriate given the circumstances of the holiday and what it stands for. It made me giggle.

We had a nice BBQ with Megan and David and their neighbours then went down the hill behind their house to watch the fireworks. Bica, the 50 pound dog that thinks she’s a chihuahua, helped the boys get firewood.

She did a good job because we had a roaring fire all night long!

It slowly got dark and the fireflies came out but they don’t show up very well on camera.

Our view
Our view

The fireworks were being set off juts behind those trees so we had a great view of some amazing fireworks. And some more!

It was a great 4th and we can’t wait to do it again next year!

Leave a Reply

